Home > Help >Selling & seller fees>Using seller tools>Selling Manager and Selling Manager Pro>Managing products>Updating product details
Help
Search the Help pages (Does not search for items or products) Search Help Pagestips
Selling Manager Pro – Updating product details


The “Product” page in Selling Manager Pro is the central area for managing product detail information, listing templates, and tracking inventory.

Updating product information

The following product information appears on this page:

  • Product name

  • Custom label

  • Folder

  • Quantity available to list

  • Average unit cost

  • Average sell price

  • Average success ratio

  • Number of unsold items

  • Inventory allocation

  • Notes

For detailed descriptions of these fields, see About product details.

To update product information:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product you want to update.

  4. If you list products with variations, click the Variation details button to expand the list of variations of your product.

  5. On the “Product” page, enter your changes.

    • If you change the value in the Quantity Available to List field, the value of Total On Hand is automatically recalculated.

    • If you delete the contents of the Quantity Available to List field and leave it blank, your product quantity will no longer be tracked or automatically updated.

    • If you change the value in the Average Unit Cost field, all scheduled listings and future listings for this product will reflect this new value. Active and sold listings that were launched prior to your update reflect the previous average unit cost in your Selling Manager Pro Sales Report.

  6. Click the Save button.

Note: For listings with variations, any changes must be made at the product level. At the template level you can only remove variations.

Moving a product to a different folder

You’ll need to create folders before you can move a product between folders. You can have up to 1000 folders at a time.

To move the product to a different folder:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product you want to move to a different folder.

  4. On the “Product” page, use the Folder drop-down menu to select a destination folder for your product.

  5. Click the Save button.

Editing a listing template

If you didn’t create templates when you created your product, you’ll need to create associated listing templates before you can edit.

To edit a listing template:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product whose templates you want to edit.

  4. On the “Product” page, select the templates you want to edit.

  5. Click the Edit Templates button.

  6. Select the templates you want to edit, and then click the Continue button.

  7. Select the template information you want to edit, then click the Continue button.

  8. Make your changes, then click the Save button.

Deleting a listing template

If you delete a template, it can’t be recovered.

To delete a template:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product whose template you want to delete.

  4. On the “Product” page, select the template you want to delete.

  5. Select Delete in the drop-down menu beneath the template names.

  6. Click the Go button. A confirmation page opens.

  7. Click the Delete button.

Duplicating a listing template

When you duplicate templates, the auto list rules are not duplicated.

To duplicate a listing template:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product whose template you want to duplicate.

  4. On the “Product” page, select the template that you want to duplicate.

    • If you want an exact copy of a template, click the Duplicate button. A new template is added to the product's listing template section.

    • If you want to create a new template based on the existing template, click the Duplicate As button. Use the Sell Your Item form to make any necessary changes and save the new template.

Listing and relisting a product automatically

You can set up rules that automatically list and relist your products.

To set or edit an automation rule:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product for which you want to set or edit an automation rule.

  4. On the “Product” page, select the template you want to update, select Assign Automation Rules from the drop-down menu, then click the Go button.

  5. On the “Assign Automation Rules” page, select a rule for your listing template.
    Important: To avoid unexpected results, you should carefully review the interaction of automatic listings. For example, setting both automatic listing and relisting can result in duplicate listings.

  6. Click the Assign button.

Selling again using a listing template

You can use the Sell Again feature to create new listings for your products.

To sell again using a listing template:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product whose templates you want to access.

  4. On the “Product” page, select the listing templates that you want to use to create a listing.

  5. Click the Sell Again button.

  6. Specify when you want your listings to start:

    • Start your new listings when you submit them.

    • Schedule your listings to start at a later time by selecting the Schedule to start on button and select a start date and time for your new listings.

  7. Click the Submit Listing button to save your changes.

Tracking inventory quantity

To enable tracking of a product's inventory quantity:
  1. Go to My eBay.

  2. Click the "Inventory" link in the left-hand navigation.

  3. On the “Product Inventory” page, click the name of the product for which you want to track inventory.

  4. If you list products with variations, click the Variation details button to expand the list, and select the specific variation you want to track.

  5. On the “Product” page, enter the quantity of product in the Quantity Available to List field.

  6. You also can add a restock alert and notes.

  7. Click the Save button.

    To disable this feature, delete the contents of the Quantity Available to List field and leave it blank. Your product quantity will no longer be tracked or automatically updated.

Contact Customer Support
If you have an additional question about this subject, please email us at Customer Support.
If you would like to ask a question on another subject, please use the Contact Us page.
Contact us

Have a question? We can help.

 Contact us

Ask eBay members

Get help from other eBay members. Visit the Answer Centre to post a question.

Additional site navigation