Frequently asked questions
It can take up to 48 hours from the launch date for category changes to become visible on the site, but changes should appear on the site from 13 June.
If this happens, your listing will automatically be moved to the next most relevant category. If you need to relist any items in an affected category after the changes have been made, please revise your listings (including Good 'Til Cancelled listings) and use the new category structure.
Your listings will be moved automatically into the new category.
Please revise your listing and update the item specifics to make it easier for buyers to find your item.
If new subcategories have been added below your category, your listings will be moved to the best possible subcategory based on the item specifics used in the listing. When you relist these items, be sure to list in the appropriate subcategory and use eBay-recommended item specifics for optimal visibility in a buyer’s search results.
Item specifics allow you to highlight important details about your item. They are displayed within your listing’s description, showing buyers relevant information about your item in an easy-to-read format. Adopting the item specifics on your listings helps buyers find your items and typically results in an increase in bids per listing and an increase in sales per listing.
All categories on all eBay sites allow you to create your own item specifics, but for maximum visibility to buyers, we recommend that you use the eBay-suggested item specifics whenever possible.
Excluding recommended item specifics will make your item less likely to surface when buyers use the left-hand navigation refinements on the category page; for example, if the seller tag for “colour” is omitted on a listing, then the item will not be shown when the buyer refines by a specific colour, and will only surface when “not specified” is selected on the left-hand navigation.
Generally speaking, when your items is moved to a new category with different final value fees, it will adopt the final value fees of that new category. Insertion fees and advanced listing upgrade fees will be based on the original category. In cases where the original category has been merged with another category with different fees, you’ll be charged the insertion, and advanced listing upgrade fees of the original category. When the listing(s) ends, however, the final value fee will be the one of the destination category. For more information on selling fees, please visit our help